Play of the Day – 3


As A1 advances along his right sideline toward team B’s goal line, his foot strikes the pylon at the intersection of the sideline and the goalline. A1 carries the ball in his right arm so that the ball is extended over the sideline. What is the call if (a) the ball crosses outside the pylon before A1 touches the pylon, or (b) A1 touches the pylon before the ball crosses the extension of the goal line outside the pylon?


In (a), it is a touchdown. The goal line plane is extended since A1 touches the pylon. In (b), the ball becomes dead when A1 touches the pylon. The covering official must decide where the forward most point of the ball was when the ball became dead
(2-12-2, 8-2-1a, 8.2.1).